Our risk and order status

Learn how we categorize order status and risk.

We assign two values to all the orders that we score: NS8 Risk and NS8 Order Status. Both values affect order processing, but they’re independent from each other. You can use these values to create flexible order rules or manually review orders.

NS8 Risk

We determine an order's NS8 Risk by its score and your custom order risk thresholds. Both order rules and customer verification can affect an order's NS8 Risk. However, the order's score won't change. The following table shows the levels of risk.

NS8 RiskDescription

Low

The order’s score was above the threshold for low-risk orders. Or its risk was modified by customer verification or an order rule.

Medium

The order’s score was between the threshold for high-risk and low-risk orders. Or its risk was modified by customer verification or an order rule.

High

The order’s score was below the threshold for high-risk orders. Or its risk was modified by customer verification or an order rule.

NS8 Order Status

This status is a dynamic representation of where the order is in the order processing workflow. By default, we hold all orders in Merchant Review. To change an order's status, create order rules to automate processing, or manually review orders.

When you approve or cancel an order, the order's NS8 Risk doesn't change. For example, if you change the status of a high-risk order from Merchant Review to Approved, the NS8 Risk stays High.

The following table shows the NS8 Order Status categories.

NS8 Order StatusDescription

Approved

The order is marked for approval by you, an order rule, or customer verification. We'll notify your ecommerce platform to fulfill the order.

Merchant Review

By default, this is the status for all orders. The order is on hold for review. It stays in Merchant Review until you manually take action or the order is processed by an order rule or customer verification.

Canceled

The order is marked for cancellation by you, an order rule, or customer verification. We'll notify your ecommerce platform to cancel the order. You might have to manually refund the order, depending on your ecommerce platform and order intercept settings.