Settings

An overview of the Settings page.

To change NS8 functions and settings, go to the Settings page.

Time zone for reports

Select the time zone that you want to use for reports. To choose a time zone, use the drop-down menu.

Valid vs. suspicious sessions threshold

This setting lets you select the score threshold that determines if a session is valid or suspicious. By default, scores 200 and above are categorized as valid sessions. Scores of 199 and below are marked as suspicious. To customize this setting, drag the slider to raise or lower the threshold. Sessions below the selected threshold appear on the Suspicious Sessions page.

The level of suspicion for a session is separate from an order's risk level. All sessions are scored for suspicion. Only customers who purchase an item and complete the checkout process are scored for order risk. Our score encompasses sessions and orders. A user who places an order will have one score for both the order and the session. Depending on your settings, a user's score can indicate a high level of order risk but a low level of session suspicion.

Assign NS8 Risk for orders

This setting lets you select the score thresholds that determine whether an order is High, Medium, or Low risk. By default, scores between 0 and 200 are High risk, scores between 201 and 600 are Medium risk, and scores above 601 are Low risk. To customize this setting, drag the sliders to raise or lower each threshold.

An order's risk level will not automatically affect the way that we process it unless you configure an order rule to handle orders based on risk.

Order intercept

Use this setting to have us intercept the payment authorization and capture process from your ecommerce platforms. It also determines where we'll exist in the payment workflow. This is important because it determines how we interact with your store's payment capture settings and when we review orders as they are processed.

For more information about how to configure this setting, go to Configure order intercept.

Order intercept for Shopify

  • Intercept between Payment Authorization and Payment Capture: After an order is submitted and payment authorized, we hold it for review. After we approve the order, payment is automatically captured, and the order continues to fulfillment. For this option to work correctly, set the Shopify payment authorization to Manually capture payment for orders.

  • Intercept between Payment Capture and Order Fulfillment: After an order is submitted and payment captured, we hold the order for review. After we approve the order, the order will continue to fulfillment. For this option to work correctly, set the Shopify payment authorization to Automatically capture payment for orders. Make sure that Shopify's order processing is not set to Automatically fulfill the order's line items.

  • Manual Mode: We score users and orders. You have to continue capturing and fulfilling orders manually through Shopify. After we approve the order, payment capture and fulfillment is not automatically initiated in Shopify.

Order intercept for BigCommerce

  • Intercept between Payment Capture and Order Fulfillment: After an order is submitted and payment captured, we hold the order for review and changes its BigCommerce order status to Manual Verification Required. After we approve the order, its BigCommerce order status changes to Awaiting Fulfillment. If we cancel an order, its BigCommerce order status changes to Canceled. Refund the order manually through BigCommerce.

  • Manual Mode: We score users and orders. We won't enter the BigCommerce order processing workflow or affect the BigCommerce order status of any orders approved in our platform. However, orders that we cancel will have their BigCommerce order status changed to Canceled. Refund the order manually through BigCommerce.

Email notifications (Shopify only)

Decide whether to send an email to customers when we cancel their order. To customize the email content, use Shopify's settings.

Extensions

This setting lets you manage our extensions.

Ekata

This setting lets you switch between Ekata Free and Pro plans. Certain features, like automated identity checks and order rule compatibility, are only available for Ekata Pro.

With Ekata Pro, you can set custom thresholds to automatically run a Pro check on all orders within a designated risk score range. To turn automated checks on or off, select the toggle in the upper-right corner of the Ekata pane. To raise or lower these thresholds, drag each slider. Turning off automated Identity Checks will not affect your ability to perform manual Identity Checks on the Order Review page.

Verifi

Configure the Verifi Cardholder Dispute Resolution Network extension. To configure Verifi for NS8, select View Settings.

Customer verification

To verify a customer's identity, send them a confirmation code using customer verification. This can be helpful for medium-risk orders when it's not clear if an order is fraudulent. On the Settings page, configure how we'll respond to customer verification checks.

Customer verification settings

Changing these settings affects pending customer verification requests.

  • Expiration Window: Dictates whether customer verification requests will automatically expire after a specific amount of time, measured in days.

  • Auto-cancel Window: Dictates whether an order will automatically be canceled after its customer verification request expires, measured in days.

  • Successful Customer Verification: Dictates what happens to the NS8 Order Status after the customer confirms their purchase. You can keep the status, or set it to Approved, Merchant Review, or Canceled. The second drop-down menu dictates what happens to the NS8 Risk of an order after the customer confirms their purchase. You can keep the risk, or set it to Low, Medium, or High.

  • Failed Customer Verification: Dictates what happens to the NS8 Order Status after the customer cancels their purchase. You can keep the status, or set it to Approved, Merchant Review, or Canceled. The second drop-down menu dictates what happens to the NS8 Risk of an order after the customer cancels their purchase. You can keep the risk, or set it to Low, Medium, or High.

Customer verification branding

These settings let you customize the subject, body, and header of the emails that are sent to your customers when a customer verification request starts. These emails support only plain text and merge tags.

  • Email Subject: The subject of the email your customers will receive. This field supports merge tags.

  • Email Header Logo: You can upload an image of your store's logo to appear in the verification email. This setting is optional.

  • Email Body: The body of the email your customers will receive. This field supports merge tags.

  • Verification Support Contact: The contact name, email, and phone number of the person or team your customers can contact for help. This field is not automatically populated in the customer verification email. To add it to the body of the email, use the %%SUPPORT CONTACT%% merge tag.

Google Analytics Integration

This setting lets you confirm or change the Google Analytics ID associated with NS8. To change your Google Analytics remarketing threshold, drag the slider. By default, any users with a score below 200 are excluded from remarketing campaigns.

For more information about this integration, go to Google Analytics.